Real sourdough, finally

2013-11-08 20.01.57

Warm, sliced and awaiting the garlic butter I made to go with it.

Yesterday (Friday) morning, since I wasn’t able to get back to sleep after the gun play and subsequent sirens that occurred around 4:30, I started a loaf of real sourdough. I say ‘real’ because I made it without extra yeast. The leavening would be done only by the sourdough. I tried this once before but rushed it and ended up with only partially leavened (or unleavened, depending on how you choose to look at it) bread.

20131108_134553

Punched down and nestled in the jerry-rigged banneton.

This time I gave it all the time it needed. After cleaning a bit I started in on this recipe that I found at the BBC’s site. Sadly the videos referenced in the article/recipe seem to have been taken down or moved and wouldn’t load for me. The recipe though is, as it says, classic and straightforward. Since I didn’t want to risk screwing it up, I reined in my urge to fiddle with the recipe (next time though there will be fiddling).

First rise commenced at 6:30am and went until I got back from lunch with my wife, which was at about half past noon. A quick knead to knock the air out of it and after rigging up a faux banneton in a bowl and proving started a bit before one. That also went about 6 hours, determined mostly by the fact that I had to teach from 5 to 6, and so got home to start the oven preheating around quarter after six.

2013-11-08 18.39.41

After proving, ready to go into the oven.

The loaf looked lovely and rose perfectly both times. My jerry-rigged banneton was adequate to the task, though I’d like to get a basket to use for this in the future. (I would also like to get a baguette pan… I really need to find a good baking supply store here.)

The result was a delicious, crusty loaf that had the perfect sourdough taste!

4 responses to “Real sourdough, finally

    • Thanks for reading and replying. 🙂

      I think it could do with a little gluten – which is probably the fault of the flour I used not the recipe itself. I’m going to try a whole wheat version next.

  1. Nothin’ like the real thing. Yum!

    Yes, the more protein/gluten, the better. Hard wheat works much better than soft wheat or all-purpose flour. You develop what gluten you have by beating some of the flour with the liquid for a while until it gets gooey, then adding the rest of the flour so you can knead it.

    • Yeah. I use a hard wheat flour, but it’s just the brand from the smallish local supermarket, I can definitely stuff better suited for bread.

Leave a Reply

